Poetry & Me

October 21, 2009 § 10 Comments

I am not sure, when I started to realize poetry, in the sense when it struck me as something worth reading. Coz, I remember lines “Miles to go before I sleep” in English prose, but it definitely did not mean anything to me. Or the ones from a poem named Brooks

Men may come and men may go, but I go on for ever

Or Robert frost’s often quoted,

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood, I took the one less traveled by & that has made all the difference

I took the one less travalled by..

Such appealing lines. But ignorance clouded my mind šŸ™‚ Anyway, but good that, God did not want to me to spend the rest of my life that way. Soon, I started reading lots of Vairamuthu’s books (he is a Tamil poet, by the way), novels, fiction, history, philosophy in English & Tamil. Wanted to read all the books ever written at one point. Wondered how I spent my life till now without books. At one point, me and my friends stop at book shop once every week to get books worth at-least 300. Those were great days. Holidays were spent with books & pillow. I lived closer to 1000 AD than 2000 AD with all Tamil historical novels surrounding me.

One of my closest friends, Mani from Madurai pens really thought-provoking lines. I grew up on his ideas, in a way. Around the same time, read Kannadasan, Kalki, Jeyagandhan, Sujatha, Sidney Sheldon, Jeffrey archer novels & liked them. OK. Any proper book reader would say, Sydney sheldon’s novels follow the same plot. True, but I love the way he portrays his characters. One character would definitely be infinitely rich & mighty. I fell for plush leather cushions in his aircraft or long oak-made closets or beautifully carved statues and paintings. Sometimes, I prefer big conference rooms to smaller ones in my office for this reason. So, spacious & luxurious. I like Kannadasan for writing great things from his personal experiences in simple words. He is a Tamil poet too.

Almost an year back, read Shantaram. Totally worth reading 700 pages or something. Again, more fact than fiction, loved it. But now, its been quite sometime, since I finished a novel or any book for that matter. Somehow convincing myself that, I don’t have that much of patience to read. To compensate that, when i hear

You say it best, when you say nothing at all

from Ronan Keating’s or our own

Tum paas aayae, youn muskuraayae.. Kuch kuch hota hai

from Kuch kuch hota hai, it makes me think, how a day could be made beautiful just by a thought. Kind of get the same happiness and pleasure out of it. I do miss imagining characters from novels and later being jolted back to reality. Sometimes I envy some of my friends, who have the creativity to write poetic verses like Bharathi or Mani, but feel thankful that at-least I am in a state to appreciate such things.

That does mean a lot, don’t you think so?

P.S: My English teacher may not believe me quoting great literary pieces. Can’t help smiling!

—-
Arun Vallappan

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 10 Responses to Poetry & Me

  • saurabh says:

    Awesome poetic thoughts!!!

  • Pradeep says:

    Dei son of gun kalakura da… unakul irukira kalai/kavidai gnanathai nandraga velipadithirikiraai….. vazhthukal… thodanrundhu ipadi pala matter eduthu vudu..

  • Avinash says:

    a metemorphosis on the cards !!!
    hey well written man, gud to read, as always..

  • Kshitij says:

    beautifully crafted article…..but…. waited till the very end for a poem from you(created by you of course!!!!) but was disappointed.
    felt like i came across a mirage…..
    not your fault … but the title made me feel so(frankly speaking i was lured to read this article in that hope)…..
    ****if not from you then here goes nothing****
    waiting for that pristine moment
    i almost lost all time
    finally a decision had to be made
    so i decided to shine
    no traffic and no breakers though can ever come in my way
    i have decided to make my path
    forever which will stay

    • Arun Vallappan says:

      sss.. i never thought frm that angle..sure, if atleast my mediocre wit wud let me sometime, i will try.. but just last nite was tellin to another frnd, that poetry or creativity or words flow when u r in a higher state of consciousness.. like that moment in the movie 300, when young leonidas would pierce a wolf in the snowy mountains..
      to save the title, atleast u added some glorious lines.. šŸ™‚
      i have decided to make my path, forever which will stay is my favorite thou!

  • Leo says:

    I thought i already commented for this…hmmm anyways, good one man.

    But I would appreciate if you put some light on this part
    “Tum paas aayae, youn muskuraayae.. Kuch kuch hota hai”

    could you please enlighten us telling who’s “tum” here? also “kya hota hai??” šŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Poetry & Me at Thinking Out Loud.

meta

